Mindjet icon

Capturing content and reusing in maps

MindManager Snap lets you capture content on the web. You can also use MindManager Snap within the MindManager Go app on Android and iOS devices.

The content that you capture is sent to the Snap Queue in MindManager for reuse in a map. You can also send content to a Team Snap Queue, where everyone on the team can access content that other team members have captured. Search features simplify finding content quickly.

The content that you capture is sent to the Snap Queue in MindManager for reuse in a map. You can collect content even when MindManager isn't running.

Note: MindManager Snap is a premium collaboration feature that is only available to some MindManager licenses.

 

 

To capture content:

You can capture a range of content through your Chrome browser or mobile device, and send that content to MindManager. You must be signed into your MindManager Cloud account to use MindManager Snap.

To capture content in a Chrome browser:

You must have the MindManager Snap Chrome extension installed, which you can get from the Chrome Web Store.

  1. Do one of the following:
  • To capture a URL, Control-click anywhere on the web page, and choose MindManager Snap > Send bookmark to MindManager.
    The web page URL appears in the Topic Link field. You can also type the text to appear in the topic in the Topic Text field.
  • To capture an image, Control-click the image, and choose MindManager Snap > Send image to MindManager.
    You can also type the text to appear in the topic in the Topic Text field.
  • To capture text on a web page, select it, then choose MindManager Snap > Send selection to MindManager.
    The selected text appears in the Topic Text field.

2. Click Send.

To capture content on a mobile device:

You must have the MindManager Go for iOS or Android installed on your mobile device.

  1. Do one of the following:
  • To capture an image stored on your device, tap and select the image.
  • To capture an image from your camera, tap .
  • To send a text note, tap and type the text.

2. Click Send.

To use captured content in a map:

You can insert a piece of captured content in a map as a new topic or insert it into an existing topic. After a piece of captured content has been used in a map, it is moved from the Snap Queue to the Trash. You can restore content from the Trash for reuse. Content moved to the Trash is permanently deleted after 24 hours. If the captured content is from a Team Snap Queue, the content isn't deleted and remains available to other team members.

You can also share a piece of captured content from your Snap Queue with a Team Snap Queue. Before you insert or share captured content, you can preview it.

Any deleted content can be restored from the Trash for reuse.

To preview content:

  1. Select the content in the Snap Queue.

  2. Control-click and choose Quick View.

To insert captured content in a map:

  1. On the Insert tab, click MindManager Snap.

  2. In the Snap Queue pane, drag a piece of captured content onto the map to insert it as a new topic.
    When you drag a piece of captured content onto an existing topic, it is inserted as a sub-topic.


    Note: When you drag a piece of captured content onto a map, by default it is deleted from the Snap Queue and moved to the Trash. You can keep captured content in the Snap Queue after it is used in a map by clicking the Options button and setting the "Send to Trash after dropping into a map" option to Off.

To share captured content:

  1. Select the content in the Snap Queue pane.
  2. Control-click and choose Share.
  3. In the Share To window, choose a user or Team Snap Queue.
    You can also add users and teams. For more information see To Create a Team Snap Queue.

To refresh the Snap Queue:

  •  In the Snap Queue pane, click the Refresh button .

To search captured content:

  1. In the Snap Queue pane, click the Open Search button .
  2. In the Search & Filter box, type the search criteria.
    You can search for text in topics, topic notes, or topic links.
    In addition, you can filter for content based on its source, date of capture, and capture type.

To delete content from the Snap Queue

  • Select the content in the Snap Queue, do one of the following:
    • Press the Delete key on your keyboard.
    • Control-click and choose Send To Trash.

    To clear the Snap Queue:

    1. In Snap Queue pane, click the Options button .
    2. Click Trash All.
      You can choose to always keep all captured content in the Snap Queue by clicking the Options button, and setting Send to Trash after dropping into map box to Off.

    To restore used content:

    1. In Snap Queue pane, click the Open Trash button.
    2. Click the Restore button corresponding to the piece of content you want to reuse.
      You can choose to always keep all captured content in the Snap Queue by clicking the Options button , and setting "Send to Trash after dropping into map box" to Off.

    To work with Team Snap Queues:

    Team Snap Queues let you capture content and send it to other users' Snap Queues, as well as allow Team Snap Queues members to share their captured content with you. A user must have a MindManager Subscription License or an active Trial to be eligible to create or join a Team Snap Queue.

    To create a Team Snap Queue:

    1. On the Insert tab, click MindManager Snap.

    2. In the Snap Queue pane, click the My Snap Queue drop-down, and perform one of the following tasks:
    • To share with another MindManager Snap user — Choose Add/Manage Users, click Add User, and type the user's email address that is associated with their MindManager account.

    • To share with a team of MindManager Snap users — Choose Add/Manage Teams, click Add, click Add Member, and type the member's email address that is associated with their MindManager account.


      Note: Users that you invite to join a Team Snap Queue will receive a confirmation email that will require them to authenticate the request.

    To manage a Team Snap Queue:

    1. On the Insert tab, click MindManager Snap.

    2. In the Snap Queue pane, click the My Snap Queue drop-down, and perform one of the following tasks:
    • To remove a user — Choose Add/Manage Users, and click the button corresponding to the user.

    • To remove a user from a Team Snap Queue — Choose Add/Manage Teams, click the button corresponding to the team, and click the button corresponding to the user.

    • To rename a team — Choose Add/Manage Teams, click the button corresponding to the team, click the button, choose Rename, and type a new team name.
    • To delete a team — Choose Add/Manage Teams, click the button corresponding to the team, click the button, choose Delete Team.

    Was this topic helpful?
    Help us improve the quality of MindManager by giving us your feedback in the MindManager User Community.
    If you are commenting on this Help topic, include the title of this topic in your comment. - Thank You!